BE: DO: LEARN: DISCOVER – words to live by

I am a TO-DOer; a list-maker, a planner of Dailies and a keeper of journals which is another way of saying I like to think I am organized and on top of things and things aren’t on top of me.  Anyway, since I am new to blogging and still finding my sea legs I will at some point in the future show you what my Daily Planner looks like because it really is a thing of wonder. Scribbles and Doodles everywhere.   You should see it, you really should.   But, not today.

I design my own.  Not from scratch.  Not from bark or field or foam.  I construct mine within the beautiful covers of a Moleskine.   I buy the Moleskine (actually I buy a bunch of them at the end of every year) open it up and write the date and underneath the date I write the words:

BE: DO: LEARN: DISCOVER

They’re great words.  They’re even greater when you apply them.  The way it works is like this:

BE:  I think we all need to be reminded to Just Be. Just like we need to be reminded to breathe.  Properly.  Be.  Be Yourself.  And if there are parts of you that perhaps should not be allowed to ‘just Be’ try to Be the best version of Yourself.  The Self that doesn’t procrastinate or spreads malicious gossip or reaches for the last brownie .

DO:  This is easier written than done.  But if you have a TO-DO list it’s because you have things to do.  Get on with it.

LEARN:  Ah.  Personally I make the time for this one.  I get up an hour earlier than I have to, in order to read.  I want to learn more about the craft of writing so I read.   What are you choosing to learn? And how do you go about making the time to learn something new (a skill, a language…)

DISCOVER:  I try to discover new things every day.   I stumble upon something enlightening, useful and entertaining online daily (follow me on Twitter for more) but the kind of discoveries I prefer to make are the ones I find outdoors.  There are many.   A black squirrel in the cedar; the changing leaves; the incomparable taste of fresh farm eggs… and I list them in my Daily Planner.  It always bring a smile to my face at the end of the day.  

What words are you living by?  

 

3 thoughts on “BE: DO: LEARN: DISCOVER – words to live by

  1. I too am a big fan of Moleskine notebooks and have been using them to keep track of all parts of my life for years now. When I was younger and couldn’t afford them myself, a Moleskine of some kind was always the answer when someone asked what I’d like for Christmas.
    Whatever format the notebook, I always inscribe two things. As a person of faith, the first goes beneath the information on the ‘In case of loss, please return to…’ page. That’s Matthew 7:12: ‘So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you’.
    The second goes on the inside of the front and back covers. It’s the poem ‘Gift’ by Czeslaw Milosz. I’ll quote it because I think it complements the spirit of your post.
    ‘A day so happy.
    Fog lifted early, I worked in the garden.
    Hummingbirds were stopping over honeysuckle flowers.
    There was no thing on earth I wanted to possess.
    I knew no one worth my envying him.
    Whatever evil I had suffered, I forgot.
    To think that once I was the same man did not embarrass me.
    In my body I felt no pain.
    When straightening up, I saw the blue sea and sails.’
    I always use this to bookend my notebooks in the hope that whatever occurs within their pages, be it a to do list, a reminder of a friend’s visit, some notes on my reading or the commonplace observance of another year passing, that each brings me a little closer to that state of being, of being content as captured by the poem.
    (Apologies! Lengthy comment is lengthy!)
    Em

  2. Hi Em
    Thank you so much for your comment and for the beautiful poem by Czeslaw Milosz. I love the fact that you mention scripture as I also keep what is best described as a ‘devotional’ journal (inspired by Debbie Macomber’s One Perfect Word). I also love your posting today on ‘Laying it on the line’ because I cram my notebooks with passages from books and journals and posting that have moved me. .

Leave a Reply

