On Winter and Writing

I awoke this morning with a glad heart to the sight of  downy snow falling.   I  love the way it cloaks the earth and powders the trees.

P1060390

Winter is associated with hibernation and stagnation and yet I find that when it comes to writing, Winter is my most productive season.  Is it because of the clean, white slate outside my window?  Or the deep stillness?  Is it because for all it’s apparent barrenness, Winter is about reflection and about digging deeper?  An invitation perhaps to find richer landscapes within?

What do you think?

P1060389

Dust of Snow by Robert Frost

The way a crow
Shook down on me
The dust of snow
From a hemlock tree

Has given my heart
A change of mood
And saved some part
Of a day I had rued.

 

 

2 thoughts on “On Winter and Writing

  1. Looks beautiful! (Says she who seldom has to deal with the less appealing features of snow!) And I love the Robert Frost poem, I don’t think I’ve come across it before. I think you’re right about winter – it’s more socially acceptable to look inwards in darker months than it is during the longer days of summer when we’re all told that we should be out enjoying the sunshine while we can and not stuck at a desk. And the similarities between a snow-draped landscape and an untouched page tend to tune one’s focus!

Leave a Reply

