What is your INTENTION for 2014?

Happy 2014 everyone!  I have to agree with most posts I have read and add to the chorus by saying that I was quite happy to see the tail end of 2013.  I am looking forward to a brighter, healthier and happier 2014 not only for myself and my family but for everyone.

I start every New Year not so much with a resolution but with an intention or theme for the coming 365 days.  That theme is usually comprised of one word.   2012 for example was my year of CREATIVITY.  My intention then was to be more available and open to creative outlets.  So not only did I write a novel but I started drawing again which I loved doing as a child but stopped when I got my training bra.

My word for 2013 was RESTORATION and I have to admit here that it was in fact a word chosen for me and not a word I would have consciously decided on.  You may already know from previous blogs that I read the Bible or at least I try very very hard to carve the space and time to read it and reflect on a passage from the Bible every day.   I knew by late 2012 that 2013 was going to be a challenging year for my family and I. Not only did we have BIG goals to meet as individuals and a family but we also had to meet certain residency requirements and make Canada, once and for all, our permanent home.   For those of you who have moved countries/immigrated you will know what I mean when I compare it to moving mountains! (which I can assure you God will do for you if you ask nicely).    I don’t have a ‘systematic’ way of reading the Bible  since I have read it from cover to cover many times.  Instead I open it up and read whatever chapter catches my eye.  I got this idea from Debbie Macomber’s wonderful book One Perfect Word.

(The theme of RESTORATION comes up throughout the Bible but the passages that I was ‘compelled’ to read were mostly found in Jeremiah, the Psalms and Acts I)

Now you don’t have to be religious to find your word for the year.  You don’t even need a Bible.  What you do need I believe is faith. Faith that your Spirit knows what lessons need to be learned or qualities need to be explored or earned and it all starts with some quiet time.  I made that time for myself yesterday and I discovered that my year of RESTORATION was also my year of APPRECIATION.    I learned that real change only comes after you have learned to appreciate your current circumstances.  Demanding change in yourself or in your environment only creates tension and builds barriers to progress.  You have to start by appreciating what you have right now.  2013 was the year the scales fell from my eyes and I saw things clearly.  I have a lot to be thankful for even when it felt at times, like I was ‘losing’ out on so much by turning down what I knew would be soul-crushing work and letting go of certain ‘friends’.

My word for 2014 is REFRESH and again it was chosen for me.  I know.  It’s strange.  I need to ponder on this one.

What is your WORD (or words no need to limit yourself!) for 2014!

In the meantime I can tell you I am working on my goals for this blog and I am looking forward to sharing them with you.

3 thoughts on “What is your INTENTION for 2014?

  1. Happy New Year! It sounds like you’ve made a good start already. How important to be able to take the time to stand back from all the day to day details and think about the bigger picture. As is brought home more to me every January, our time is so so brief and little worthy of our attention are so many of the things that bring us down. I have a simple little prayer on my fridge (as the place that I spend too many hours of the day hanging out!) that says ‘We pray, O God, that you will slow us down for we know that we live too fast. With all of eternity before us, make us take time to live – time to get acquainted with You, time to enjoy Your blessings, and time to know each other.’ (The words are Peter Marshall’s.) I’m still working on it, but it’s a prayer that’s often on my tongue.
    ‘Refresh’ is as great word and as you’re pondering on it, you might like to think about how it can carry a degree of purpose with it. Perhaps it was chosen for you to give you a task, ‘to refresh’ not only yourself but as a word to carry out to others also. Just something that came to mind. I always love words that involve re-, mainly because I find comfort in that idea that everything I have experienced – painful, joyous, shameful all – has happened for a reason and, having made me who I am today might also have a place in my future with the application of a ‘re-‘word – revisit, remember, reimagine, revert, realise, reconcile.
    Wordy thoughts about words – I hope I’ve made even a little bit of sense!

    • Thank you Em for your wise words (and the beautiful prayer). You have given me more to ponder over:-) You are so right in saying there is a purpose to the word ‘REFRESH’ and though I think I know why this word was given to me I believe it carries – just like the word ‘restoration’ did – layers of meaning. 2013 found myself and my family ‘restored’ in not only the most literal sense but also ‘restored’ spiritually so I am looking forward to a year of ‘refreshing’. I too love words starting with ‘re’ because they remind me of second chances and who doesn’t love a chance to make things right again in the world?

Leave a Reply

