Favourite Love Stories

Hear my soul speak:
The very instant that I saw you, did
My heart fly to your service.  – The Tempest, William Shakespeare

 

For Valentine’s Day I thought I’d list my Favourite Love Stories (books & movies et al) -this may or may not be a hint to hubby that I expect he will sit through another viewing of Pride and Prejudice tonight. 

1.  Pride & Prejudice (book, movie)

2.  Beauty & The Beast

3.  Love Actually (the movie – anything really with the magnificent Colin Firth)

4.  The Phantom of the Opera

5.  All of Kathleen Woodiwiss’ historical romances.

What is your favourite love story?

7 thoughts on “Favourite Love Stories

  1. Great list, Yolanda! I’ve got to see Love Actually, I love Colin Firth, he cracked me up in Bridget Jones Diary.
    Pride and Prejudice sits at the top of my favorite love story, along with The Way We Were.
    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    • I’ve watched it over 20 times, but whenever I see it’s on TV, I tune in again. Recently, I bought the DVD, so I’ll probably watch it this weekend.
      East of Eden is on tonight, another must see.
      You have a great weekend too, Yolanda!

  2. I love love love ‘Love Actually’. For my sister’s hen party we rented a private cinema and watched it as a big group. It fascinated me how everyone empathized most with different characters and storylines. For me, it’s always the Emma Thompson/Alan Rickman narrative that breaks my heart!
    I went to see the new Spike Jonze film ‘Her’ this evening and enjoyed its fresh perspective on romance and relationships. While it won’t be edging out any of my established favourites, two cinema love stories I do return to time and again are the 1995 Emma Thompson/Ang Lee ‘Sense and Sensibility’ (not least because the score feeds my soul) and the CS Lewis biopic ‘Shadowlands’ with Anthony Hopkins and Debra Winger. It might make me cry every single time I watch it, but the closing lines are as essential a truth about love as any classic romance might offer.
    ‘Why love, if losing hurts so much? I have no answers anymore: only the life I have lived. Twice in that life I’ve been given the choice – as a boy and as a man. The boy chose safety, the man chooses suffering. The pain now is part of the happiness then. That’s the deal.’

    • Hi Em! I have a hard time choosing a favourite narrative from Love Actually they all pull at my heart strings which is why I think it is one of the best movies EVER. I have to agree with you about Sense & Sensibility. I don’t think I have ever watched ‘Shadowlands’ – it sounds wonderful and I may just watch it tonight:-)

      • If you do get to enjoy ‘Shadowlands’, let me know what you think! My father and I have been reading a lot of CS Lewis essays recently for an ecumenism course but he refuses to watch the film. He says he doesn’t fancy the romantic bits but we both know that he just can’t handle sad stories!

      • LOL will do. Enjoy what is left of the weekend on your side of the world and I do hope the weather has been kinder to you in Ireland than it has for most parts of England

Leave a Reply

