How to Sign-Off on Email

ImageI am especially glad that for my job (the one that pays the bills) I don’t have to make or answer many calls.  I have held jobs where I was on the telephone all day.  And I mean all day.  And I wasn’t even in Sales. Maybe I have been put off telephone conversation by past experiences and the monumental effort it took to sound cheery and upbeat on days I felt and looked like something my cat found under a loose floorboard.  Maybe it’s just that I prefer face to face conversation or if I can’t meet with you then I prefer keeping in touch via email and letters (yes I actually write and post letters and postcards etc).    This then brings me to the topic of email etiquette because I spend a lot of time on email for work.

How to sign-off an email?

It’s not really the same as ending a letter is it? What do you think?

I mean I always sign-off my personal letters with a flourish and a kiss and a string of hearts and (if you’re really special) a doodle. At work I end all business letters with ‘Sincerely’.  But ‘Sincerely’ doesn’t work in emails.  I have yet to come across one like that.  What I do find and I have to admit I don’t like it are many incoming emails from business professionals (most of whom are strangers) ending off with just their names.  No sign- off.  No ‘Regards‘ No ‘Yours Truly’ No  ‘Best‘ – nada.  Do you think that’s ok? 

I know why people do that in business.  They don’t bother with a valediction because they don’t want to come across as insincere.  But here’s where I believe we fail.  People are drawn to people who are not afraid to show their humanity.  People with warmth.  So why not end an email with ‘All the best’ or ‘Kind Regards’.

Grammarly wrote a great article on Email etiquette where they recommend the best way to end an email is to sign-off with ‘best’.  Personally I think its a cop out.  It doesn’t say anything; it’s meaningless.  I want to believe you wish me well, even if you don’t.

What is your preferred sign-off?

2 thoughts on “How to Sign-Off on Email

  1. I knew I liked you for some reason, Yolanda…I still write letters too! 🙂
    Ugh, ‘best’ is the worst! I have a co-worker who closes his e-mails with ‘best’ and I’m always left wonder, “best what?”
    I suppose it depends on the type of e-mail, but my most common ending is ‘Thank you’…kind of boring I guess. But it seems in my work e-mails, I’m always asking people for something. I probably send/receive 50+ emails a day, sometimes more. Now you have me thinking…

Leave a Reply

