The Best Of Times…

It’s been the best of times, it’s been the …well, interesting.

So if you read my last post you will remember we had plans.  Real plans.  We were going camping.  Somewhere in the interior of beautiful British Columbia.  We were going to barbecue, bake on a rock, read books on a boat, drink lake-chilled beer, play with water guns….

Then my husband got promoted.  Very unexpectedly.  Twice.  In the space of two weeks in the middle of the best Summer in recent memory.

Getting promoted is really good news.  But.

No Summer road trip.  No getaway for the four of us.

So I’ve been working (and sulking just a little because I’m a child) and reading (I am determined to get through my Summer reading list no matter what).

Maybe, the Mr. tells me, later this year.  In the Fall.  When the bears are their hungriest.  The wolverines their feistiest.  We will lie on a carpet of molten gold and copper and shiver in our blankets as we watch the Harvest Moon rise.

I think not. I tell the Mr (with a stomping of feet).  No camping in the Fall.  I demand a hotel room, room service, warm towels, chocolates on pillows.  But I’m bluffing and he knows it.

We both want the bush.  Wild, untamed, gnat-infested bush.

For now I am home with my boys who in a desperate attempt to salvage what is left of Summer have the tent up in our backyard and the barbecue going.

What are you up to? 

Here’s a pic of a local rascal in our plum tree yesterday morning.

2014-08-09 10.57.44

18 thoughts on “The Best Of Times…

  1. I’m sorry to hear your vacation plans were a bust, Yolanda. Is it okay for me to congratulate your husband though? 🙂
    Like yourself, I’m trying to get through my endless list of books. I think I’d need a year long vacation to accomplish that.
    Aw…I love raccoons! Great picture!

    • Of course Jill 😀 my husband’s promotion was very good news. SO glad to hear you love raccoons. I have seen them do the riskiest craziest things! Love them! Have an awesome week!

  2. Somewhere between the time I was a kid and loved camping and then time I became an adult, I stopped loving camping. Hikes, yes. Nature, love it. Furry critters and snakes and pterodactyls, bring ’em on. But take me back to the hotel after. And not one of those hotels with a dark, creepy red lounge full of people sitting there since 1976, either.

    Sorry about the vaca, congrats on the promotion. I’ve had neither for a few years now.

    • I’m still in the process of “growing up” 😀 so still love playing at being adventurous which of course is just me trying to work through some primitive fears of the dark etc oh and spiders! Not too sure we will camp in Autumn (that would be a first) so am hoping we will spoil ourselves and stay in a swank -ish resort in a remote/wild area and definitely not in a 70s bordello type hotel lol. Have an awesome week Eric!

  3. And there was I thinking you were doing lots of reading underneath the stars! Hope your plans for an autumn break go ahead, and in the meantime, like your boys, you could sit out in the garden in a deck hair and pretend, I guess 🙂

    • exactly where I’ve been Jenny in the garden reading 😀 and the reading is coming along nicely. I was so happy the local wildlife were in on our staycation it has made being at home more exciting!

  4. Two promotions is great news! Especially when you consider so many people are unemployed or being laid off. We’ve been lucky to do a bit of travel this summer – to Mexico and an impromptu trip weekend trip to Ontario. We’re the chocolates-on-pillow types though. 🙂

  5. We’re off on a road trip – not camping – and more city explore than nature – but we will be checking out some lakes in Oregon. (California only has one real lake, Tahoe, the rest are reservoirs.) Oh, we’ll be visiting the ocean too. (Still not camping.)

    • Lol Lynn! camping is definitely not for everyone. I think the fact that we have boys who like roughing it a little helps! Sounds like a wonderful road trip. I look forward to seeing your pics (especially of the lakes) 🙂

  6. So sorry to hear your vacation plans got busted Yolanda, .. I got the feeling, you know..But then again your husband got promoted. Good job! Look at the bright side, camping in the fall = less mosquitoes, no?
    So what am I up to? Moving, I guess haha.. Not quite what I had planned to do this summer.
    Love the little rascal.

    • Isn’t the rascal cute. Teenager. Not a fully grown adult otherwise he would have fallen out of the tree 😀 wishing you a smooth move Karin and many happy experiences. I look forward to hearing all about your new home etc.

Leave a Reply

