A Reality Check For A Busy Body

I wish I could say I’ve been away; somewhere tropical sipping cocktails with tiny umbrellas, taking pictures of my sun-kissed toes which I then posted on Instagram for my 4 followers but the truth, dear readers and friends, is far uglier, even sinister.

I have been busy.

Mad busy.  Mostly busy with work but also busy dealing with Life’s unexpected challenges, like yesterday’s unforeseen trip to the doctor for a tetanus shot because…

of busyness.

There I was in the kitchen, mobile phone cradled between left ear and raised shoulder, talking about a photographic shoot our company had commissioned, while opening a can of tomato paste when the call ended and I  rushed to complete the task at hand because I had a campaign to finalize and a How-To doc to submit and so, lifted the rest of the lid with what I thought was my thumbnail but in fact I used my thumb and there was blood, lots of blood and I had a flashback to a day, not so long ago, when we had to rush my eldest son to the doctor when he was four (maybe five) for a tetanus shot when he stood on a rusty nail..

The doctor was kind but he looked at me disapprovingly when I explained that I wasn’t really thinking.  I just did it like I was Superwoman because some days, most days lately, I feel like Superwoman.   And right then, I knew I was in trouble. I was trying to make dinner in under ten minutes which is unusual for me, because I love cooking. Correction: Used to love cooking.

What happened?

While I write this, I realize that ‘my word for 2015’ – the word I chose for myself this year was ATTENTION. In fact, there were two words: WONDER and ATTENTION and the two are interchangeable now, because if I am not paying attention I am missing out on all the wonder….

Just this past week I had the opportunity to visit one of the world’s most spectacular gardens – The Butchart Gardens, on Vancouver Island.  I went to the island on a business trip and then, since hubby accompanied me, decided to stay on an extra day.

2015-06-20 11.59.15

‘Sunken Garden’ Butchart Gardens – photo: Y McAdam

2015-06-20 12.03.07

Sweet peas! LOVE them! Photo: Y McAdam

One of the first thoughts I had on getting back home was ‘I have to go back’.  I have to go back and drink in all that beauty and sink my toes into the dark earth and watch for the unfurling of petals; the rustling of leaves.

I’m less harried now.  My heart is lighter – happier.  And it’s because I’m sharing this with you and because I am writing again, and the writing is not for work, it’s not going to pay the bills but it fills up my Spiritual tank.

17 thoughts on “A Reality Check For A Busy Body

  1. It’s great to see you again, Yolanda. I hope I didn’t nag you into a post. 🙂 I miss you.
    I’ve done the same when opening cans. That’s what happens when we juggle too many things and aren’t paying attention. I hope your thumb is okay.
    Thank you for these beautiful photographs. The sunken garden is spectacular! xo

    • Sometimes we all need a nudge or a kick 🙂 to get back on the saddle (so to speak) I have missed you and this wonderful community of bloggers. The thumb is healing fast but typing and texting is a challenge 🙂 So glad you like the photos. The Butchart Gardens are spectacular – well worth a visit!

  2. Lovely to see a post again Yolanda. The busyness thing is insidious, invidious and uncaring of our spiritual well being! Great that you had a moment to catch it out. Your beautiful photos lighten my heart too, on a morning when the world is cold and white with frost and ice and it feels like the next ice age has well and truly started! Sweetpeas, along with roses, are my favourite flowers!

    • I am eager to catch up on your blog Pauline as the last thing I seem to have read was that you were going on a trip 🙂 I hope you had a wonderful time! My maternal grandmother had sweetpeas in her garden and it’s just one of those flowers that takes me back to ‘simpler times’ 🙂

  3. It’s so nice to see you again, Yolanda. I love that garden, but am sorry to hear about your thumb. My inattention has caused many an odd injury so my word for life (not just 2015) is ‘attention’.

    Keep filling that spiritual tank 😉

    • Glad to be back Dianne and so glad to see you here 🙂 When I ‘get busy’ I tend to stay busy which of course is not a good thing. Balance should have probably been my word for this year 😀 Looking forward to reading your posts Dianne!

  4. Ah, lovely to see you back – I thought you’d disappeared off the face of the earth! Hope your injury is healing – yours is the second blog I’ve read this week where a tetanus jab might be crucial! Also hope your spiritual tank needs replenishing often 😄

  5. So extremely sorry about thumb! Yikes!
    I hope busy moments have still held joy
    Yoland, the photos are definitely filling me with wonder and beauty. I will pay attention to when you write next. . .

  6. I’m glad you’re back and feel your pain. I’ve been super busy too, and not much has happened on my blog of late. But there are natural rhythms to everything, including the writing we blog about. No worries!

  7. So nice to hear from you again Yolanda. I (we I guess) missed you!
    Hope the thumb is healing well and well.. yeah, you’ve had a ‘reality check’ 😉
    Lovely pics!

Leave a Reply

